Trying Too Hard (The Down Side of Perfectionism)

I won’t pretend that I’ve been working 24/7 for the past couple of weeks to pump out the most amazing blog post the web has ever seen, but I haven’t posted a single thing since my first post exactly two weeks ago. That’s not acceptable.

Instead of trying to create high-quality posts right from day one, I’ve decided to simply start sharing my thoughts and ideas, regardless of whether they form coherent posts at this point.

I think the reason for this delay is that I was trying too hard to write content that I believe is acceptable for others to read (or waiting for it to magically happen). Then an amazing thing happened last night. I watched an incredible film called Speak. In a lot of ways, the movie was an amazing catalyst for me. There are many things that I’ve been working out about myself recently, and I’ve spent the majority of the past 3 months holed up inside, thinking about myself and the direction my life is taking. Kristen Stewart’s character reminded me of myself in more ways than one. I am known by my family and friends as a ridiculously quiet (almost mute) person, and yet I have so many ideas that I want to share with them. I simply can’t (at this moment) find the courage to open myself to the possible judgement and criticism that would bring. I don’t know how I came to be this shy, but that’s the way it is, and I want it to change as soon as possible.

A few lessons that I took away from Speak:

1. Nothing will change unless you make it happen.

2. People can’t read your thoughts. You have to speak in order for people to understand you.

3. Every action you take has a huge butterfly effect (also an amazing movie) on the world around you.

This isn’t to say that I had no idea about these 3 things before I watched Speak, but the film really drove each point home for me, and has kept me thinking about them since, and likely for a while to come. Hopefully I will be able to translate each point into a full post soon.

I’d like to hear what you think of the film, and whether it has changed your life in any way.

3 Responses to “Trying Too Hard (The Down Side of Perfectionism)”

  1. I have never heard of that movie. and honestly, i really hate movies with kristen stuart in it. but i will have to check it out.
    im interested in which direction your blog goes and if its the direction you thought it would. these things tend to have a mind of their own. 😛

    • Lauren, She’s been in some pretty good films before twilight (Into The Wild is an amazing example). I wouldn’t be quick to dismiss it as a bad film simply because Kristen Stewart’s in it.

      You’re right about a blog having a mind of its own. Originally I wanted to have an amazing blog that would help people (and I still do), but I realized I wasn’t writing honestly. I was just making up what I thought people would want to read, and that’s not good enough.

  2. Hi G,

    I got here following a link from Miss Minimalist.

    You sound like you have been giving yourself a hard time for not finding “the courage to open myself to the possible judgement and criticism”. Well done for putting yourself and this blog out there, and finding the courage to do so.

    Haven’t seen the film but I like the three lessons you picked out. They feel particularly important for a blogger…

    Keep going and I look forward to keeping reading!

Leave a Reply

